Where am I going today?

Where am I going today?

Red Carpet Inn Scottish Inns Master Hosts Inns Downtowner Inns Passport Inn

Get Packin'

Author Archive

Aarons 499: Where else But at Talladega Superspeedway!

Posted: April 12th, 2010 by

Talladega Superspeedway is “over-the-top excitement – on and off the track,” so says the folks at www.nascar.com.

Talladega, AL Flickr photo by Pamarama73

Construction began on the 2,000 acre site now known as the Talladega Superspeedway, on May 23, 1968, on what was once termed soybean farming land.  And ever since that first race in September 1969, the track has surpassed “every initial expectation in terms of sheer size, speed and competition.”  Talladega has been known for setting precedents (the first 500 miles were run without an incident); establishing records and developing careers (with names like Brickhouse, who was the first winner of a NASCAR Cup Race at Talladega; Pete Hamilton, who won the first two major events and David Pearson becoming the first three-time winner at Talladega).  This list goes on and on, including Buddy Baker, Darrell Waltrip and Bobby Allison, Bill Elliott for his world stock-car record when he posted a speed of 212.809 mph; and Dale Earnhardt who posted 10 NASCAR Sprint Cup victories at Talladega over the years.  We also can’t forget Dale Earnhardt Jr., who followed in his father’s footsteps to victory lane.

The 2.66 mile long track with four lanes is banked at 33 degrees at each end, with an 18 degree banking in the tri-oval.  This set-up, along with the 4,000 foot long backstretch has produced some of the fastest and most competitive racing in history where speeds have reached in the excess of 220 mph in competition.

There is so much more to the Talladega Speedway than what we’ve presented here, and you can find it all at: http://www.talladegasuperspeedway.com/This-Is-Talladega/History.aspx

Mark your calendars – Sunday, April 25th when the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series visits the high banks of Talladega Superspeedway for the first time in 2010.